

CALL FOR PAPERS

Fifth Annual IEEE Communications Society Conference on Sensor, Mesh and Ad hoc Communications and Networks IEEE SECON 2008

Merged with IEEE International Workshop on Wireless Ad-hoc and Sensor Networks (IWWAN)

June 16-20 2008, San Francisco, CA http://www.ieee-secon.org

The fifth annual IEEE SECON conference will provide a unique forum to exchange ideas, discuss best practices, raise awareness, and share experiences among researchers and practitioners in the field of sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks and systems. IEEE SECON grew out of the IEEE INFOCOM conference in 2004, in order to create an event that focused on the important and exciting topics of Sensor, Mesh and Ad Hoc Communications Networks. Full papers - describing original, previously unpublished research work, experimental efforts, practical experiences, and industrial and commercial developments in sensor, ad hoc, and mesh communications and networks - are solicited. All papers for IEEE SECON 2008 must be submitted electronically through the EDAS system: http://edas.info/5694. Particular topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- New architectures and protocols
- Modeling and Performance Evaluation
- Measurements and Experimental Research on Ad hoc and Sensor Networks
- Cross-Layer Design
- Hardware and Software Platforms, Middleware
- Transport, Network and MAC Protocol Design
- Energy Efficiency

General Chair:

Kang G. Shin, Univ. of Michigan

TPC Co-Chairs:

Sujata Banerjee, HP Labs Srikanth V. Krishnamurthy, UC Riverside

Publication Chair:

Curt Schurgers, UCSD

Standing Committee:

Fred Bauer, Nokia (Chair)
Hamid Aghvami, King's College, London
Mischa Dohler, France Telecom R&D
Harvey Freeman, HAF Consulting, Inc.
Sung-Ju Lee, HP Labs
Prasant Mohapatra, UC Davis
Krishna Sivalingam, UMBC

- Network Coding, MIMO and Other Emerging Areas
- Network Security at all layers
- Survivability and Fault Tolerance

Important Dates

Registration Deadline: December 04, 2007 Submission Deadline: December 11, 2007 Acceptance Notification: March 14, 2008

Panel Co-Chairs:

Sneha Kumar Kasera, Univ. of Utah Jie Wu, NSF/Florida Atlantic Univ.

Poster/Demo Co-Chairs:

Sunghyun Choi, Seoul Nation Univ., Korea Alhussein Abouzeid, RPI

Publicity Chair:

Daji Qiao, Iowa State Univ.

Web Chair:

Prashant Krishnamurthy, Univ. of Pittsburgh

Local Organizing Co-Chairs:

Ignacio Solis, PARC Kumar Viswanath, NTT MCL

Travel Awards Chair:

Romit Roy Choudhury, Duke Univ.