

22 – 26 June 2009 • Rome, Italy www.ieee-secon.org/2009









The 6th Annual IEEE Communications Society Conference on Sensor, Mesh and Ad Hoc Communications and Networks

The sixth annual IEEE SECON conference will provide a unique forum to exchange ideas, discuss best practices, raise awareness, and share experiences among researchers and practitioners in the field of sensor, mesh, and ad hoc networks and systems. IEEE SECON grew out of the IEEE INFOCOM conference in 2004, in order to create an event that focused on the important and exciting topics of Sensor, Mesh and Ad Hoc Communications Networks.

Papers describing original, previously unpublished research work, experimental efforts, practical experiences, and industrial and commercial developments in sensor, ad hoc, and mesh communications and networks are solicited. Particular topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Modeling, Algorithms, and Performance Evaluation
- Measurements and Experimental Research
- · Hardware and Software Platforms, Middleware
- New Architectures
- MAC, Network, Transport, Application Protocols and Cross-Layer Design
- Network Coding, MIMO, Cooperative Communications and Other Novel Techniques
- · Cognitive Radios, Vehicular Networks, Underwater Networks, Urban Sensing, and other Emerging Areas
- · Security, Survivability and Fault Tolerance

IMPORTANT DATES

Paper Registration Deadline: 19 January 2009 (11:59 EST)
Paper Submission Deadline: 22 January 2009 (11:59 EST)

Decision Notification: 13 April 2009 **Camera Ready Due:** 30 April 2009

PAPER SUBMISSION AND PUBLICATION

Papers should neither have been published elsewhere nor currently under review by another conference or journal. All papers for IEEE SECON 2009 must be submitted electronically via the EDAS system: http://edas.info/. Papers must be no longer than 9 pages and in font size no smaller than 10 points. Please refer to the IEEE SECON website for detailed instructions on preparing and submitting the manuscript. Accepted papers will appear in the conference proceeding published by IEEE.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

GENERAL CHAIR

Mario Gerla, University of California at Los Angeles

TPC CO-CHAIRS

Chiara Petrioli, University of Rome 'La Sapienza' Nitin Vaidya, University of Illinois

TPC VICE CHAIR

Bhaskar Krishnamachari, University of Southern California

STANDING COMMITTEE

Fred Bauer, Nokia (Chair)
Hamid Aghvami, King's College, London
Mischa Dohler, CTTC, Spain
Harvey Freeman, HAF Consulting, Inc.

Sung-Ju Lee, HP Labs

Prasant Mohapatra. University of California at Davis

Krishna Sivalingam, University of Maryland, Baltimore County



